Research Guides: OER Open Education Resources: Teaching with OER

Teaching with OER

Best practices for Creative Commons attribution You can use CC-licensed materials as long as you follow the license conditions. All CC licenses require attribution.
OASIS A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. Currently searches open content from 75 different sources and contains over 175,000 records.
OER Hub Organization researches the impact of OER on teaching and learning practices.
Open Pedagogy Notebook Examples of OER including classroom-tested practices and ideas.
CORA: Community of Online Research Assignments

Open Education Organizations

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) A consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources.
Open Education Consortium A non-profit global network of open education institutions and organizations.
Open Education Group An interdisciplinary research group that conducts original empirical research on the impact of OER adoption and designs and shares methodological and conceptual frameworks for studying the impact of OER adoption. They also teach courses in topics relating to open education.
SPARC Global coalition to advance open access, open data, and open education.
Open Education Network The OEN is a vibrant and supportive community that advances the use of open educational resources and practices. Members benefit from and contribute to the global open education ecosystem.

Open Courses and OER Search Engines

CK-12: Elementary through High School Resources Aims to increase access to low-cost K-12 education.
Creative Commons Search All images are under Creative Commons licenses.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Covers thousands of free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.
Google Advanced Search Select usage rights to find open access materials.
Illinois Shared Learning OER Platform IOER provides you with open, standards-aligned educational and career content. IOER offers easy-to-use, no-cost, immediate online access to education and career resources and tools for individuals, schools, and organizations.
Lumen Learning OER courses covering 50+ college subjects.
MERLOT MERLOT provides discipline-specific learning materials including learning exercises, projects, papers, and class activities.
OER Commons OER Commons is a freely accessible online library that allows teachers and others to search and discover open educational resources and other freely available instructional materials.
Open Course Library A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching.
Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN) Support materials including guides for best practices when marking content, OER management, and for universal design for learning and accessibility.

Open Textbooks

B.C. Open Collection by BCcampus
EdTech Books Free textbooks
Free Book Centre Freebookcentre.net contains links to thousands of free online technical books, including core computer science, networking, programming languages, Systems Programming, and Linux.
IntechOpen Open access scientific book publisher.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) Search multiple OER resources at once, including: BC Campus, DOAB, JSTOR, MERLOT, and others.
MIT OpenCourseWare MIT's teaching materials in many subjects.
Open Culture Textbooks Dedicated to collecting links to free educational and cultural media for the general public. Their editorial board includes several teachers and academics.
OpenStax A nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University. Includes textbooks on math, science, social sciences, humanities, and business.
Open SUNY Textbooks (Milne Open Textbooks) Open SUNY Textbooks is an open textbook publishing initiative. (Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo)
Open Textbook Library Provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
PLOS Nonprofit publisher of over 215,000 peer reviewed articles.
Saylor Academy Open Books Provides free, online, non-degree courses in a variety of subjects as well as textbooks. Mainly focuses on business and management.
University Press of Kentucky OAI Over 1,300 books published by the University Press of Kentucky (UPK) are now available to KYVL member institutions through UPK's Open Access Initiative (OAI). (see also Featured Resources LibGuide)
Wikibooks Wikibooks is a wiki-based Wikimedia project hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation for the creation of free content e-book textbooks and annotated texts that anyone can edit.