Research Guides: Accounting: Course Resources

Library Resources

For most of your accounting courses, you will have a text and possibly additional learning tools, (i.e. CNOW, practice sets, computerized projects, etc.) to help you learn and apply the course objectives. However, in many cases additional information might be helpful in fully understanding and applying the course concepts. One options is to search YouTube for accounting terms, concepts, and procedures.

List of Current Faculty - College of Business & Technology

Books

Accounting Books Print books on accounting are available at most libraries in the Sullivan University Library System. They may be checked out for two weeks. If a book is available at a SUS library other than yours, you may place a request with the library staff to have it transferred to your library.
Accounting ebooks Accounting ebooks are available on your PC anywhere, at any time. When accessing an ebook, you will be prompted for a username and password. These are the same credentials you use to access the Student Portal.

Journals

Search for Accounting Journals When accessing a journal, you will be prompted for a username and password. These credentials are the same ones you use to access the Student Portal.
Strategic Finance According to the publisher, Strategic Finance prints articles on subjects such as Sustainability, Risk management, Financial planning, The changing roles of the CFO and the finance function, Technology, Leadership, etc. The Sullivan University Library has full-text access for this publication back to the January 1987 issue. Issues previous to that may be requested through interlibrary loan.
Journal of Accountancy The Journal of Accountancy, published by AICPA, covers topic such as Accounting and financial reporting, Information management and technology assurance, Career management, Professional ethics, Fraud, Tax, and Forensic and valuation services. The Sullivan University Library has full-text access to the journal back to January 1965 issue. Articles published prior to that date are available through interlibrary loan.

Databases

FASB Codification Database This link opens in a new window (Accessible only to accounting students and faculty) - The codification provides access to the authoritative nongovernmental generally accepted accounting principles for the United States (GAAP).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text from peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Mergent Online offers detailed company and industry profiles with comprehensive financial information.

Websites

Accounting Coach
AccountingForManagement.org Explanations, exercises, problems, and calculators.
Accounting Terminology Guide
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
AuditNet Resource for auditors
Certified Internal Auditor, (CIA)
Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB)
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
GAO Yellow Book Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards. The Yellow Book is used by auditors of government entities, entities that receive government awards, and other audit organizations performing Yellow Book audits. It outlines the requirements for audit reports, professional qualifications for auditors, and audit organization quality control. Auditors of federal, state, and local government programs use these standards to perform their audits and produce their reports.
Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)
International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation (IFRS)
Occupational Outlook Handbook The U.S. Department of Labor's OOH is published each year. This directory profiles many jobs for a variety of elements, including career outlook, salary range, and skills needed.
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board oversees the audits of public companies and SEC-registered brokers and dealers.
SEC Staff Interpretations This page provides links to written and oral statements made by members of the SEC's staff on various accounting and legal matters. These staff interpretations provide guidance to those who must comply with the federal securities laws. However, because they represent the views of the staff, they are not legally binding.