Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Database?
What is a database and why would I want to use one?
- Databases are different than using a general search engine, such as Google. They provide access to resources that have been already checked for reliability and credibility.
- Publication dates, authorship and publishing information (citation information) for resources retrieved in database are easy to find.
- Many databases are focused on specific topics, which can make searching much faster.
- Resource citations can be quickly formatted into APA format, which makes writing papers much easier!
Which database should I use?
Which database should I use? Below is a "cheat sheet" to help you find the best database for your search.
General databases such as EBSCOHost Academic Search Complete, ProQuest or Opposing Viewpoints are a good places to start. See below for databases that focus on specific topics.
- Art, Design and Architecture: Academic Search Complete and ProQuest
- Business: Business Source Complete, ProQuest, Business First, and Mergent Online
- Computer science: ACM Digital Library, Academic Search Complete, and Learning Express Library
- Environment/sustainability: GreenFile and Agricola
- Education: ERIC
- Government information and statistics: American Fact Finder, USA.gov, CenStats, and GPO Access.
- Health science: CINAHL, Health Source, PubMed, and Medline Plus
- Psychology: PsychINFO and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Technology and engineering: Academic Search Complete and ProQuest
For more databases by topic, and an A-Z listing of all databases, go to the Sullivan University Library Database page.
Accessing a database will require you to login with your Sullivan University network password. Your username is your student ID and your password is typically your social security number.
If you have difficulty logging in, contact the library for assistance.
The databases listed on this page are some of the most popular. The library subscribes to dozens of other databases that you may find useful. To see a complete listing of the library's databases, follow the link below.
EBSCOhost is a collection of full text databases, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, Business Wire News, CINAHL Complete, Clinical Reference Systems, Health Source, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, and Sociological Collection.
As you can see from the names of the databases within EBSCOhost, it has articles on many different topics. If you are unsure where to begin researching a subject, this is a great place to start.
Mergent Online offers detailed company and industry profiles with comprehensive financial information.
Opposing Viewpoints consists of comprehensive, full-text databases providing differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative action, censorship, ecology, mental health, and many more. It is a great resource if you are researching a controversial issue such as gun control, abortion, etc.
ProQuest is a collection of accounting, career and alternative press databases, including Career and Technical Education and Dissertations and Theses.