Mergent Online: Database Tutorial

Mergent Online offers detailed company and industry profiles with comprehensive financial information. This guide provides information about specific features and functionalities of this useful database. If you have questions or cannot find the answers you need, please contact the library for more assistance.

Basic Search

Select a Company by Name or Ticker Symbol

• Click the check boxes to select one or more of the following search options:
  • USA Company Database (Active) - companies that are currently publicly traded on US exchanges.
  • USA Company Database (Inactive) - companies that are not currently, but were once, publicly traded on US exchanges.
  • International Company Database (Active) - companies that are currently publicly traded on international exchanges.
  • International Company Database (Inactive) - companies that are not currently, but were once, publicly traded on international exchanges.
  • D&B (Dun & Bradstreet) Private Company Database - companies privately owned with the US and Canada.
• In the text box, enter the company name or ticker symbol then click the Go button.

Retrieve a List of Companies by Primary SIC, NAICS, or ICB code

1. On the right side of the screen under Classification Search select either Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or ICB.
2. In the text field, enter the code(s) for the companies you wish to find. Either type the code directly in the field or use the code lookup table to find the correct code.
3. Click on the Search button. This will display the Search Results page that will show the list of company names (if any) corresponding to the code(s) you entered.

Search Tips

• To search for a range of codes you can either use an asterisk (*) as a wild card or you can simply leave off the digits you want as the range. For example, typing in '31*' or '31' in the Code field will find a list of companies in the SIC code range 3100 through 3199.
• You can search for several SIC codes in one search by placing ' or ' between each one or separate each code with a comma and a space.