Research Guides: Nursing Resources: Find Articles

Nursing and Health Related Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete provides the full text of over 1,300 nursing and allied health journals dating back to 1937. It contains over 6 million records.

CINAHL Complete is the premier nursing database and should be the first place you try to find nursing journal articles.

To find articles about nursing topics, complete a keyword search in CINAHL.

To do keyword searching in CINAHL, simply enter your keyword(s).
There's not one correct way to do keyword searching in CINAHL – it is important to try different keyword combinations.
CINAHL contains both citations and full text articles. A citation provides information about the article, but not the article itself. Limit your results to Full Text if you want to search only full articles.
If your search retrieves too many results, try adding another keyword.

CINAHL Search Examples (Keyword):

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Has full-text articles and abstracts from thousands of scholarly/peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study. Available through EBSCOhost and provided by KYVL.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Features leading medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Collection of consumer health information and access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, and Vegetarian Times. Access provided by KYVL.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's database provides authoritative indexing to 4800+ scholarly medical, nursing, veterinary science, and other health-related journals from 1966 to the present. Access provided by KYVL.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window An EBSCOhost database indexing 550+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1965 on a wide range of psychiatric and psychological subjects. Access provided by KYVL.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.