Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Career Choices
In a perfect world the career you pursue will give you purpose. To help you find a career that will give you that purpose you will want to conduct research. There are many outlets of information when researching a career -- magazine & journal articles; encyclopedias; directories; job advertisements; and much more. Things to explore :
Use the library's database subscriptions to research your career selection.
- For example: if you are interested in the outlook for graduates with an accounting degree--use EBSCO's Business Source Complete or the Proquest Accounting & Tax databases. Try typing in a search such as accountants and demand. Talk to a librarian if you need help getting started.
- One great starting place is the U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook. Published each year, this directory profiles many jobs for a variety of elements -- career outlook, salary range and skills needed.
- Another US DOL resource is O*Net OnLine, a searchable database of occupations which can be searched by skill-set, interests, work experience, education and more. O*Net also has a special database for Veterans to help chart how to use specialized military skills after service has ended.
- Take a Skills Assessment at CareerOneStop, use the Skills Profiler to create a list of your skills and match them to job types that use those skills.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This directory profiles many jobs for a variety of elements -- career outlook, salary range and skills needed.
Provides access to a wide variety of information on labor, occupations, and workers.
A portal for governmental information about careers, industry, salary data, and much more.