About

Acceptable Use Policy


Acceptable Use Policy

Acceptable Use Policy

Introduction:

  • Purpose: The purpose of this document is to establish a clear Acceptable Use Policy for Internet access for the Sullivan University Library and Resource Learning Center. The Library endeavors to develop collections, resources, and services that meet the bibliographic, informational, and educational needs of its diverse, multicultural community of users. The Library provides Internet access within this collection development criteria context, and, also, as a means of marketing its resources and services, and providing remote, asynchronous access to its card catalog, locally-produced files and tutorials, subscription databases, web links, and e-mail. The Internet is a global electronic network comprising an ever-growing, disparate collection of resources on a wide range of topics. Resources available on the Internet supplement and complement the collections of the Sullivan University Library. In interacting with the world wide community through electronic media, the user’s code of behavior is expected to be an extension of the Sullivan University Code of Conduct.
  • Access: In order to enhance and support its educational, instructional, and research-related mission, as well as to raise educational standards, to support the professional work of staff and faculty, and to facilitate management of information resources, the Sullivan University Library and Learning Resource Center provides in-Library PCs for internet access for Library cardholders, i.e., primarily on- and off-campus Sullivan University System’s (SUS) students, faculty, and staff.

In Addition:

  1. Users are expected to use the Internet for educational and research purposes. Conventional chat room sessions, game playing, and abuse of e-mail privileges are not considered educational research.

  2. Users must respect copyright laws pertaining to material obtained.

  3. Accessing and printing inappropriate materials is prohibited.

  4. Users must properly cite and not plagiarize any sources.

  5. Users will be held accountable for all activities including the content of materials sent by mail, news, or any other means using the account privileges. Users should follow the electronic mail policy as delineated in the SUS Information Technology’s Users’ Privileges and Responsibilities, click here, for an example.

  6. E-mail is provided as an aid to the University’s educational, instructional, and research-related mission. However, sending obscene, harassing, or threatening e-mail is prohibited.

  7. The privacy of other users should be respected especially in respect to disclosing passwords to anyone; reading the mail of others; and revealing personal addresses or phone numbers.

  8. By the same token, users should avoid listing personal information in such an insecure forum as the Internet.

  9. While all due care will be taken by the Sullivan University Library to ensure responsible use of the Internet connection, all users will assume full liability, legal, financial, or otherwise for their actions.

  10. Users will not masquerade as or misrepresent other users.

A user who does not comply with the Internet Access Policy will lose access privileges.

  • Availability: Access to the Internet is a privilege and not a right, and is to be available equally to the entire SUS community of users. Internet access is not free, and requires care and respect of University hardware and software to minimize damage, expense, and to insure continued availability. The educational opportunity of all users to access the Internet will be encouraged. Access is on a first-come, first-serve basis with no reservation or advance sign ups required. However, as a courtesy to others who may be waiting to use the PCs, a one hour limit is desirable.

By using a public Internet workstation at the Sullivan University Library you agree to the following guidelines:

Time Limits:

  • No sign ups are necessary before using the Internet computer;
  • A valid Sullivan University Library card is necessary for computer use.
  • As a courtesy when others are waiting to use these electronic resources, please limit use to one hour.
  • Printing/Downloading:
    • You may print materials, or – on some PCs, download to a pre-formatted disk.
    • You must provide your own disks.
    • The Library is not responsible for any loss or damage to personal disks when downloading.

Email:

  • The university offers students, faculty and staff electronic mail accounts and the Library has a link to the university email server.
  • The prevailing standards of netiquette should be used, e.g., flaming (verbal-written attacks), or spamming (unsolicited advertising) is to be avoided.
  • You may download your e-mail if you know the Internet address of your private account.

You may not:

  • Use the Library's workstations as a staging ground to gain unauthorized access to the Library's networks or computer systems or to any other network or computer system.
  • Obstruct the work of others by consuming gratuitously large amounts of system resources or by deliberately crashing any Library computer system.
  • Make any attempt to damage computer equipment or software.
  • Make any attempt to alter software configurations in a malicious manner.
  • Make any attempt to cause degradation of system performance.
  • Use any Library workstation for illegal or criminal purpose.
  • Engage in any activity which is deliberately and maliciously offensive, libelous or slanderous.
  • Represent yourself as another person for purposes of fraud or other illegal activity.

Illegal Acts Involving Library Resources May be Subject to Prosecution by Local, State or Federal Officals

The Library reserves the right to terminate an Internet session at any time.

  • Censorship: The Sullivan University Library does not generally monitor Internet use and is not responsible for its contents, and consequently has no control over the information so accessed, either on workstations within the Library building, or remotely. University librarians and staff offer assistance, guidance, and instruction (click here for access to the Library’s internet tutorial/self quiz) on using the Internet as a research and information resource. The Internet contains information which may be inaccurate, outdated, or offensive. Use of the Internet carries with it a responsibility to evaluate the quality of information accessed. The Library assumes no responsibility and shall have no liability for any direct, indirect or consequential damages arising from the use of information found on the Internet, or any communications sent through the Library’s Internet terminals. The Library does not monitor an individual’s use of the Internet; nor does the Library employ filtering software
  • Privacy: Users, NOT the Library or its staff, are responsible for the Internet information selected and/or accessed. Internet users in the Library building should be aware and respectful of the desire of others not to be inadvertently exposed to material and images which they find offensive. The university seeks to protect First Amendment Rights, including freedom of access to information, for users; also, the individual right to privacy. However, those using the Internet must be sensitive to the fact that workstations are in public areas and screen images may be viewed by others. Also, electronic media do not afford privacy in communication, especially with respect to agencies other than the Library indispensable for electronic communication.
  • Disclaimer: Links to Internet sites, selected by university librarians to support the curricula, can be found on the Sullivan University Library web pages. The Library follows its materials selection guidelines in linking other web sites to its home page and accepts recommendations for sites from its usership (recommend a web site) based upon certain criteria. However, web users should be aware that the Library has not participated in the development of these other linked sites and does extend any editorial or other control over these sites. Any link from the Library’s web site to another web site is not an endorsement from the Library. The Library does not warrant that its web site, the server that makes it available, or any links from its site to other web sites are free of viruses or other harmful components.

For more information about this policy, contact:

Charles Brown, Assistant Provost and Dean of University Libraries, 
Professor, PECC
Sullivan University Library and Resource Learning Center

2222 Wendell Ave. Louisville, Kentucky 40205

phone: (502) 456-6773

e-mail: cbrown@sullivan.edu