Skip to Main Content
Library Guides
Library Guides
- Guides on specific subjects that have links to useful resources
APA Library Guide
Examples and resources to help with citing sources using APA 7 format.
Articles
Academic Journals (peer-reviewed or scholarly)
- Publishes articles by subject specialists
- Peer reviewed articles are evaluated by other experts before publication
Databases
- Collections of articles from journals and magazines
- Some databases provide only summaries of articles and do not include full text. Use the Journal Index to check if the library has access to the journal article you need.
Trade Publications
- Articles written by and for workers in a particular field
- Articles may have sources cited, but sometimes do not
Nation's Restaurant News
Trade publication that emphasizes timely news & in-depth analysis that shape the food service marketplace & pinpoint emerging trends.
Publishers Weekly
Trade publication with news and analyses of book publishing for publishers, booksellers, agents, librarians, writers, educators and people involved in movies, radio and television.
Magazines
- Articles geared toward the general public
- Popular interest and current events
Newsweek
Magazine; A news weekly that reports on current political, national and international business and economic, and cultural events. Analyzes trends in society, the arts, lifestyles, celebrities, technology, and health through articles and commentary.
Time
Magazine; National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
Newspapers
- Useful for researching current events or tracking the development of historical events
New York Times
Newspaper; Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Content does not include the New York Times Magazine.
USA Today
Newspaper; A daily (5-day) general interest newspaper distributed nationally. Includes world, national, state, sports, business, finance, and lifestyle news.
Books
Print and ebooks
- Useful for the complete background on an issue or an in-depth analysis of a theory or person
- Can take years to publish, so may not always include the most current information
Skillport 8i This link opens in a new window
Skillport 8i, the new interface for Books 24x7, gives access to thousands of books and instructional videos on business, IT, and leadership topics.
Reference Books
- Include facts, figures, addresses, statistics, definitions, dates, etc.
- Useful for finding factual or statistical information or for a brief overview of a particular topic
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic entries on a variety of national and international subjects. Access provided by KYVL.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic is a combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research. Access provided by KYVL.
