Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
In this imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days working for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak, and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs.
Jane Austen Centre
The Jane Austen Centre is located in Bath, England, where Jane Austen spent part of her life. The website provides information about Jane Austen, as well as an online Jane Austen journal with many articles.
Jane Austen Information Page
Contains biographical, social and historical information about Austen’s life and time. Also contains information about all her works as well as commentary on her artistic merit and literary reputation.
Jane Austen Society of North America (JASNA)
The Society publishes an online journal which may be searched for articles on various topics. The site also contains links to other sites containing information about Jane Austen and her works.
Jane Austen Society of the United Kingdom
The website of the Jane Austen Society of the United Kingdom provides images of Jane Austen's home, a newsletter, and biographical information.
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
This site contains an annotated version of the novel along with various commentaries and criticisms. Also contains links to film version of the work.
The Victorian Web – Jane Austen
This website contains a collection materials relating to literary, cultural, and historical aspects of Austen’s novels. Topics include political history, economics, religion, gender issues, themes and characterization.
4000 Dupont Circle
Louisville, KY 40207
Ph: (502) 447-1000
Ph: (800) 264-1799
2222 Wendell Ave.
Louisville, KY 40205
Ph: (502) 456-6773
2355 Harrodsburg Road
Lexington, KY 40504
Ph: (859) 514-3359