Research Guides: Healthcare Management: Statistics

Healthcare Utilization, Cost, & Quality

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care Using Medicare data, this project provides an atlas on the efficiency and effectiveness of the health care system in the United States. Data can be found by: region, hospital, and topic.
Deloitte Center for Health Solutions Latest news and analysis covering topics such as health plans, health care providers, and home health care.
HCUPnet Data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). Provides statistics on hospitalizations, emergency department visits, ambulatory surgeries including procedures as well as population-based health care data at national and state level.
Health, United States - CDC Annual Report An annual report on trends in health statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey The only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care.
National Center for Health Statistics NCHS provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the public health of the American people.
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports - AHRQ Measures trends in quality and effectiveness of patient-centered care including issues of access, timeliness and safety.
National Health Care Surveys - CDC Designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers.
PwC's Health Research Institute PwC's Health Research Institute (HRI) provides new intelligence, perspectives, and analysis on trends affecting all health-related industries.

Statistics on Specific Populations

Census Data Platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
CDC Data & Statistics Find data, tools & resources on diseases and conditions.
Global Health Observatory The World Health Organization's portal on global health. Includes statistics by country and information about specific diseases and health measures.
Aging and Disability in America - ACL Data on older adults and people with disabilities.
AgingStats.gov Over 40 indicators grouped in six sections: Population, Economics, Health Status, Health Risks and Behaviors, Health Care, and Environment

Physicians, Hospitals, and Health Workforce Data

Physician Comparison - Medicare.gov Find and compare physicians and other clinicians enrolled in Medicare.
Health Workforce Analysis - HRSA The National Center for Health Workforce Analysis (NCHWA) develops research reports that focus on issues that affect the U.S. health workforce.
Hospital Comparison - Medicare.gov
American Hospital Association A national organization that represents all types of hospitals and health care systems.
American Hospital Directory Find hospital profiles with listing of services, utilization statistics, accreditation status, and financial information.

Health Insurance

Health Care Cost Institute HCCI is a non-profit organization that aims to provide researchers "access to health care cost and utilization data that covers all ages and health issues, is national in nature, and includes previously inaccessible data on the private health insurance market."
Health Insurance (MedlinePlus) MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.
Health Insurance Industry Profiles Industry profiles in Business Source Complete.
Health Plan Report Card - NCQA The National Committee for Quality Assurance, a non-profit organization rates health insurance plans by quality and performance metrics.
State Health Facts - Kaiser Foundation From Kaiser Foundation, the site covers all 50 states. Consult individual state profiles or compare and download data on a variety of topics including health status, health coverage and uninsured, Medicaid and CHIP, health costs and budget, managed care and health insurance, providers and service use, minority health, women’s health, and HIV/AIDS.

Home Care, Nursing Homes, Hospice, & Long-term care

Home Health Comparison - Medicare.gov Summarizes and rates the quality of care provided by "Medicare-certified" home health agencies throughout the nation. Can be searched by city, zip code, and state. For each agency, provides contact information, type of ownership (profit, government or non-profit) and and services offered.
National Post-Acute and Long-term Care Study (NPALS) - CDC NPALS monitors trends in the supply, provision, and use of the major sectors of paid, regulated long-term care services. NPALS uses survey data on the residential care community and adult day services sectors, and administrative data on the home health, nursing home, hospice, inpatient rehabilitation, and long-term care hospital sectors. The vision for NPALS is to offer reliable, accurate, relevant and timely national and state statistical information to support and inform post-acute and long-term care services policy, research and practice.
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO) Largest nonprofit membership organization representing hospice and palliative care programs and professionals in the United States.