General background research/topic exploration
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Has full-text articles and abstracts from thousands of scholarly/peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study. Available through EBSCOhost and provided by KYVL.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
These resources are comprehensive, full-text databases providing differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative action, censorship, ecology, mental health, and many more.
Criminal Justice Specific Databases
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service provides criminal justice literature for the public use.
Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is cohosted by the Stanford Law School and the European Corporate Governance Institute dedicated to the worldwide dissemination of social science research. Search the Social Insurance Research Network link. Subscription required but free.
Psychological & Sociological background
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database indexing 550+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1965 on a wide range of psychiatric and psychological subjects. Access provided by KYVL.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of psychological journal articles, book chapters, and books. (Formerly named PsycINFO) Access provided by KYVL.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database indexing full-text articles from 500+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1975 in all areas of sociology including social behavior, relationships and social structure. Access provided by KYVL.
