Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's literature--Lexington: Children's Book Award Winners

Lists of book recommendations by age, award-winners, and special topics can be found in this guide.

What are the Newbery and Caldecott Awards?

The John Newbery Medal and the Randolph Caldecott Medal are:

  • Awards given annually by the American Library Association to distinguished works of children's literature.
  • The Newbery Medal is given to books for the excellence in writing found in them.  
  • The Caldecott Medal goes to books based on the quality of the illustrations, not the text. 
  • A complete list of Caldecott and Newbery winners (and much more) is on the pages of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).

Caldecott medal and honor books

Watch this cool video!

The video below features the author and the illustrator of the 2016 Newbery Medal and Caldecott honor-winning book, Last Stop on Market Street. 

Newbery medal and honor books