Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Gamification of Learning and Instruction by Praise for The Gamification of Learning and Instruction: Kapp argues convincingly that gamification is not just about adding points, levels and badges to an eLearning program, but about fundamentally rethinking learning design. He has put together a brilliant primer for learning professionals on how to gamify learning, packed with useful advice and examples." --ANDERS GRONSTEDT, president, Gronstedt Group "After reading this book, you'll never be able to design boring learning again." --CONNIE MALAMED, author, Visual Language For Designers; author/creator of The eLearning Coach Blog "Engaging, informative and complete; if you need to understand anything about instructional game design, this is the book you need. It provides the right amount of academic evidence, practical advice and insightful design tips to have you creating impactful learning in no time." --SHERRY ENGEL, associate director learning technology, Penn Medicine Center for Innovation and Learning "What Karl Kapp has done with this book is looked at games and learning from every possible angle....he provocatively asks questions that the learning community needs to answer, like 'Do our design processes still work?' and 'Are we really meeting the needs of today's learners?' This book may make you anxious, make you laugh, or make you angry. But one thing it will definitely do is make you think." --RICH MESCH, experiential learning guru, Performance Development Group
Call Number: eBook [371.334]
Publication Date: 2012
The Gamification of Learning and Instruction Fieldbook by Following Karl Kapp's earlier book The Gamification of Learning and Instruction, this Fieldbook provides a step-by-step approach to implementing the concepts from the Gamification book with examples, tips, tricks, and worksheets to help a learning professional or faculty member put the ideas into practice. The Online Workbook, designed largely for students using the original book as a textbook, includes quizzes, worksheets and fill-in-the-blank areas that will help a student to better understand the ideas, concepts and elements of incorporating gamification into learning.
Call Number: eBook [371.337]
Publication Date: 2014
Gamify by Organizations are facing an engagement crisis. Regardless if they are customers, employees, patients, students, citizens, stakeholders, organizations struggle to meaningfully engage their key constituent groups who have a precious and limited resource: their time. Not surprisingly, these stakeholders have developed deflector shields to protect themselves. Only a privileged few organizations are allowed to penetrate the shield, and even less will meaningfully engage. To penetrate the shield, and engage the audience, organizations need an edge. Gamification has emerged as a way to gain that edge and organizations are beginning to see it as a key tool in their digital engagement strategy. While gamification has tremendous potential to break through, most companies will get it wrong. Gartner predicts that by 2014, 80% of current gamified applications will fail to meet business objectives primarily due to poor design. As a trend, gamification is at the peak of the hype cycle; it has been oversold and it is broadly misunderstood. We are heading for the inevitable fall. Too many organizations have been led to believe that gamification is a magic elixir for indoctrinating the masses and manipulating them to do their bidding. These organizations are mistaking people for puppets, and these transparently cynical efforts are doomed to fail. This book goes beyond the hype and focuses on the 20% that are getting it right. We have spoken to hundreds of leaders in organizations around the world about their gamification strategies and we have seen some spectacular successes. The book examines some of these successes and identifies the common characteristics of these initiatives to define the solution space for success. It is a guide written for leaders of gamification initiatives to help them avoid the pitfalls and employ the best practices, to ensure they join the 20% that gets it right. Gamify shows gamification in action: as a powerful approach to engaging and motivating people to achieving their goals, while at the same time achieving organizational objectives. It can be used to motivate people to change behaviors, develop skills, and drive innovation. The sweet spot for gamification objectives is the space where the business objectives and player objectives are aligned. Like two sides of the same coin, player and business goals may outwardly appear different, but they are often the same thing, expressed different ways. The key to gamification success is to engage people on an emotional level and motivating them to achieve their goals.
Call Number: eBook [658.314]
Publication Date: 2014
SuperBetter by An innovative guide to living gamefully, based on the program that has already helped nearly half a million people achieve remarkable personal growth In 2009, internationally renowned game designer Jane McGonigal suffered a severe concussion. Unable to think clearly or work or even get out of bed, she became anxious and depressed, even suicidal. But rather than let herself sink further, she decided to get better by doing what she does best: she turned her recovery process into a resilience-building game. What started as a simple motivational exercise quickly became a set of rules for "post-traumatic growth" that she shared on her blog. These rules led to a digital game and a major research study with the National Institutes of Health. Today nearly half a million people have played SuperBetter to get stronger, happier, and healthier. But the life-changing ideas behind SuperBetter are much bigger than just one game. In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade's worth of scientific research into the ways all games--including videogames, sports, and puzzles--change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. She explains how we can cultivate new powers of recovery and resilience in everyday life simply by adopting a more "gameful" mind-set. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games--such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination--to real-world goals. Drawing on hundreds of studies, McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build: * Your ability to control your attention, and therefore your thoughts and feelings * Your power to turn anyone into a potential ally, and to strengthen your existing relationships * Your natural capacity to motivate yourself and super-charge your heroic qualities, like willpower, compassion, and determination SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths. It includes stories and data from people who have used the SuperBetter method to get stronger in the face of illness, injury, and other major setbacks, as well as to achieve goals like losing weight, running a marathon, and finding a new job. As inspiring as it is down to earth, and grounded in rigorous research, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. You'll never say that something is "just a game" again.
Call Number: 794.8 M146s 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Game Design for Learning by Are you interested in learning more about gaming? Are you trying to determine whether it might be an appropriate training and development solution, but aren t sure where to start? While games have long been an important part of human social development think learning to take turns in a board game, and strategizing about future moves in chess or checkers we are only now beginning to understand how games can be a powerful tool in learning. This issue of TD at Work will: define games, gamification, and simulation; and discuss the types of games people play walk you through the process of creating a game by outlining its design and gaming framework describe how to get stakeholders and sponsors to support the gaming solution."
Call Number: eBook [ 658.3124]
Publication Date: 2014
101 ways to make learning active beyond the classroom by "Fresh, creative strategies guaranteed to enliven online training 101 Ways to Make Learning Active Beyond the Classroom provides proven, practical strategies, activities, and tips for those tasked with facilitating training in any subject area among alternative settings. Based on the best-selling Active Training approach, these methods have been designed by recognized experts, and are guaranteed to enliven any learning event. Readers will find a toolkit of ready-to-use exercises and tips for organizing, conducting, and delivering active learning, in alternative settings on the job or around the world. The book is organized in a way that allows trainers to quickly and easily identify strategies that hold the most promise for specific situations. Each strategy is illustrated with a case example that demonstrates the concepts in action. Two hundred tips organized in twenty how-to lists will prove invaluable for using Twitter, coaching virtually, encouraging informal learning, opening interactive virtual learning sessions, and much more. Coverage includes best practices for social media and informal learning, common e-learning tools, as well as guidance toward using a full gamut of tools from gamification and simulation to serious games and m-learning. Active training encourages participants to use their brains to study ideas, solve problems, and apply what they've learned. It's a fast-paced, fun, supportive, and personally engaging environment. This book shows training facilitators the proven techniques that help learners get more out of the material. Design a more engaging learning environment Improve delivery with optimized technology Utilize effective learning tools and practical strategies Learn best practices for social media, coaching, virtual learning, and more Learners need to figure things out by themselves, ask questions, practice skills, and transfer skills and knowledge to the job. With proven strategies designed by industry leaders, 101
Ways to Make Learning Active Beyond the Classroom is the indispensable guide to the design and delivery of effective alternative ways to learn"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 658.3124 B586o
Publication Date: 2015
Don't Bother Me Mom -- I'm Learning! by The POSITIVE Guide for Parents Concerned About Their Kids' Video and Computer Game Playing.Marc knows it all depends on how we use our games. He knows that if parents place good video games into a learning system in their homes they can reap major benefits for their children and themselves. They can accelerate their children's language and cognitive growth.. ?James Paul Gee, Tashia Mogridge Professor of Reading, University of Wisconsin-Madison Marc Prensky presents the case'profoundly counter-cultural but true nevertheless'that video and computer game playing, within limits, is actually very beneficial to today's .Digital Native. kids, who are using them to prepare themselves for life in the 21st century. The reason kids are so attracted to these games, Prensky says, is that they are learning about important .future. things, from collaboration, to prudent risk taking, to strategy formulation and execution, to complex moral and ethical decisions. Prensky's arguments are backed up by university PhD's studying not just violence, but games in their totality, as well as studies of gamers who have become successful corporate workers, entrepreneurs, leaders, doctors, lawyers, scientists and other professionals. Because most adults (including the critics) can't play the modern complex games themselves (and discount the opinions of the kids who do play them) they rely on secondhand sources of information, most of whom are sadly misinformed about both the putative harm and the true benefits of game-playing. This book is the antidote to those misinformed, bombastic sources, in the press and elsewhere. Full of common sense and practical information, it provides parents with a large number of techniques approaches they can use'both over time and right away'to improve both their understanding of games and their relationships with their kids. What You Will Learn The aim of this book is to give you a peek into the hidden world into which your kids disappear when they are playing games, and to help you as an adult'especially if you are a concerned parent or teacher'understand and appreciate just how much your kids are learning that is POSITIVE from their video and computer games. In the few short hours it takes to read this book, you will learn: What it feels like to be in the world of computer and video games; How to appreciate the breadth and depth of modern computer and video games and the ways they make your kids learn; How to understand the various USEFUL skills your game-playing your kids are acquiring; How to understand your own kids better and build better relationships using games as a base; And, most importantly, How to augment and improve what your kids are learning by HAVING CONVERSATIONS THAT THEY WANT TO HAVE about their games.
Call Number: 794.8222 P926d
Publication Date: 2006
The Game Believes in You by What if schools, from the wealthiest suburban nursery school to the grittiest urban high school, thrummed with the sounds of deep immersion? More and more people believe that can happen - with the aid of video games. Greg Toppo'sThe Game Believes in You presents the story of a small group of visionaries who, for the past 40 years, have been pushing to get game controllers into the hands of learners. Among the game revolutionaries you'll meet in this book: *A game designer at the University of Southern California leading a team to design a video-game version of Thoreau's Walden Pond. *A young neuroscientist and game designer whose research on "Math Without Words" is revolutionizing how the subject is taught, especially to students with limited English abilities. *A Virginia Tech music instructor who is leading a group of high school-aged boys through the creation of an original opera staged totally in the online game Minecraft. Experts argue that games do truly "believe in you." They focus, inspire and reassure people in ways that many teachers can't. Games give people a chance to learn at their own pace, take risks, cultivate deeper understanding, fail and want to try again-right away-and ultimately, succeed in ways that too often elude them in school. This book is sure to excite and inspire educators and parents, as well as provoke some passionate debate.
Call Number: 794.8223 T675g 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Games That Teach by Games are your answer! They don't want to hear you lecture. They don't want to read an instruction guide. So how can you tell them what they need to know? You want bright smiles, not bored sighs. You want them to have fun, but you want them to learn as well. GAMES are your answer! Games aren't just for kids. Games can help people learn business ideas: games can teach. Steve Sugar's adaptable designs put an end to tired, scripted business games. Sometimes you have a lot of games, but none of them ever seems to suit the occasion. Sometimes games suit the occasion, but are so rigid that the participants are bored before they've scarcely even begun. With Sugar's help, your games will always be both fitting and new. These aren't your average games. They're frame games, game shells to which you can add your own unique content. With this simple book, you'll quickly create perfect games for every setting! In this book you'll get: An abundance of uniq ue and playful games. These content-reinforcing designs will increase the smile quotient of even the most hard-to-please audience. A handy selection matrix. This tool helps you choose the games that suit your specific training needs. A simple seven-step game implementation model. This plan shows you how to customize these designs for your own use. As a student, Sugar used games to remember his schoolwork; as a teacher, he used games to energize dull lessons; as a trainer, he uses games to excite learners and accelerate learning. And now he offers you this invaluable treasury of his fluid game designs. Bring a bounty of frame game fun to your next training session or presentation!
Call Number: 658.3124 S947g
Publication Date: 1998
Learning Theories and the Design of e-Learning Environments by The rationale for this textbook is to introduce educators and e-learning designers to pedagogical models that provide the framework for effective content organization for curriculum, as well as visual design principles that support development of interactive learning environments. The book reveals the application of pedagogical models to the design of e-learning environments by discussing theories and showing actual applications that have been developed for the Web.
Call Number: 371.33 G475l
Publication Date: 2003
E-Tivities by Beyond the hype of online learning lies a straightforward question: how do you really deliver worthwhile learning online? This book, based on action research, provides a simple answer to this fundamental question by exploring a key technique that enables teachers and learners to use available technologies happily and successfully. So, what are e-tivities? They are motivating, engaging, purposeful activities developed and led by an e-moderator. They are frameworks for active and interactive online learning. E-tivities are in the hands of the teachers themselves and promote active e-learning. This is not a book about the technology of online learning. Practical, accessible and direct, it looks at personalizing and customizing teaching and learning. Written for use in any topic, subject or course, E-tivities explores: the importance of activities in online learning; designing and running e-tivities; the five-stage model of teaching and learning online. Backed up extensive illustrations and case studies, and including a unique collection of 35 Resources for Practitioners, this is a book for all professionals involved in online learning.
Call Number: eBook [371.334]
Publication Date: 2002
E-Learning Games by For courses in Personal and Professional Development, Training and Development, Design of Instructional Software, Human Resource Development, and Skills Development. Based on principles of constructivism and grounded in instructional design theory, this book contains games, simulation exercises, experiential activities, and other active learning approaches that will guide its users as they create engaging, interactive web based courseware. E-Learning Games contains openers, closers, practice exercises, simulations, peer learning activities, and idea generators that will engage online learners from their first click--and keep them returning again and again.
Call Number: 371.337 I94e
Publication Date: 2004
Continuing to Engage the Online Learner by This book includes a definitive model for engaged learning that can be applied in a wide range of on-line learning environments and across age levels. It also addresses current topics such as engaging in a blended learning environment, social networking, and using related technology tools. Continuing to Engage the Online Learner provides an introduction to the theory of engaged learning and its design, assessment, and management in online and blended learning environments. In addition, the book describes the types of activities that engage the online learner in each phase of engagement and provides 50 new examples of activities.
Call Number: 371.33 C754
Publication Date: 2012
Games and Simulations in Online Learning by Nearly all early learning happens during play, and new technology has added video games to the list of ways children learn interaction and new concepts. Although video games are everywhere - on Web sites, in stores, streamed to the desktop, on television - they are absent from the classroom. Computer-based simulations, a form of computer games, have begun to appear, but they are not as wide-spread as email, discussion threads, and blogs. Games and Simulations in Online Learning: Research and Development Frameworks examines the potential of games and simulations in online learning, and how the future could look as developers learn to use the emerging capabilities of the Semantic Web. It presents a general understanding of how the Semantic Web will impact education and how games and simulations can evolve to become robust teaching resources.
Call Number: 371.33 G449g
Publication Date: 2007
Exploring Gamification Techniques for Classroom Management
A variety of gamification techniques from the literature are used in two college courses. Some techniques, such as an experience point-based system and leaderboards, proved confusing or frustrating, while other techniques, such as adding a meaningful narrative layer and allowing students to create their own learning paths, engaged students more deeply. In this article, the techniques used and the effects of each are explored and suggestions are provided for instructors considering adding game layers to the classroom.
You may be prompted to login with your Sullivan credentials in order to access the following articles.
To find additional articles on the use of games in the classroom, search the library databases.
Click here for a tutorial on searching for articles on the library website.
Please contact the library if you would like assistance researching your topic.