Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mergent Online: Database Tutorial

Advanced Search

The Advanced Search allows you to specify a wide range of textual and financial criteria to be searched for.

You may choose from eight different categories of information from which to build criteria for your specific search.

  • Corporate Information -– Allows you to choose basic corporate information criteria for your search. Data points include company name, location, year incorporated/founded, stock exchange, country of operations, number of employees, number of shareholders, legal counsel, subsidiary, transfer agent, and auditor.
  • Executives – Allows you to search for companies based on information specific to  its executives.  Below are the data point options under the “Executives” category. First and last name, salary, age ,committee, education, title, bonus, year started, total compensation, tenure, inactive (include retired), and job function.
  • Financials – Allows you to search for companies based on specific financial information reported in their financial statements.  Below are the data point options under the “Financials” category. Advertising, Current Liabilities, EBITDA, Earnings Before Tax, Inventories
  • Industry Codes – Allows you to search for companies based on industry codes.  Below are the data point options under the “Industry Codes” category.
  • Pricing – Allows you to search for companies based on their index pricing and trading information.  Below are the data point options under the “Pricing” category. Average Price, Average Volume, Closing Price, Dividend Yield, DPS, EPS
    •  
  • Ratios – Allows you to search for companies based on ratios reported in their financial statements.  Below are the data point options under the “Ratios” category.  Advertising % TR
  • Textual Search – Allows you to search for companies based on specific textual information.  Below are the data point options under the “Textual Search” category. Business
  • Portfolio & Index – Allows you to search for companies based on trade index and investment portfolio information.  Below are the data point options under the “Portfolio & Index” category. 
  • Choose from the drop down menu: Contains or Starts With
  • Fill in the text box with a full name or any part of a name
  • The number of companies matching the criterion specified will generate
  • Choose from the drop down menu: AND or OR
  • If you are finished adding data points, click view
  • If you would like to add another data point, choose AND or OR and repeat the above with the new criterion.

        • Select Target Universe: Check-off the company databases to be searched.  Select from any of the available Mergent Databases:
  • US Company Universe: Active publicly traded US companies
  • US Company Archive: Public US companies that have merged, were acquired or went bankrupt since 1995.
  • International Universe: Non-US publicly traded companies
  • International Archive: Public Non-US companies that have merged, were acquired or went bankrupt since 1995.
  • Private Company Database: Private company reports from the Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Database.

Note: Depending on your subscription, various database names will be available for selection.

        • To Build Search Criteria
          • Select the databases you wish to search by setting the check box in front of their names.
            The five available databases contain data for active and inactive US and International companies, and Private companies.
          • Once you have selected the databases you wish to search within, Select Data Categories by choosing one of the tab options:
            • Corporate Information
            • Executives
            • Financials
            • Industry Codes
            • Pricing
            • Ratios
            • Textual Search
            • Index & Portfolio
  • After you have chosen a specific category of information, select a data point of interest by clicking the (+) icon next to it.  This will populate the area below with each data point you choose and more specific options available for that particular data point.
  • When you click on a data point, you will notice that this data point and further specifications particular to it will appear in a row below the options box.
    • If you have clicked a data point incorrectly, simply click on the X on the left of the criteria box.
    • If you have chosen the correct data point, be certain to offer further specifications to better narrow your search.  
      Note: Select a category from the list above for a specific break down of the options available to you for each data point.
  • As you build the criteria for your search, pay attention to the numbers generating within each data point box. This is Mergent Online’s projection for the number of results available for each additional data point.  As your search becomes more specific, the number will naturally become smaller. 
  • Note:  Even if you build a search with multiple data points, you do not have to start over if you wish to perform your search from any earlier data criterion which may return higher results.  At the right of each data point box is a view link. Click this link to view your results at each stage of your criteria building process. 

Note: The number generation tool may take some time to populate. You may either choose to wait for it or view the results before this estimate number generates.  

  • When ready, choose the view button to start the search for companies satisfying the criteria specified.
    This will take you to the Search Results page.

Code Lookup

There are Industry Code Lookup Tables available for the Primary SIC, Primary NAICS and MIC code searches. From these tables you can add the desired code to the search criteria field.

Note: It is only possible to search for a list of companies by one of these three types of codes at a time.

  • Click on the Use Code Lookup link. A new window will open displaying the top level of the Industry Codes.
  • Clicking on the plus icon to the left of the descriptions will drill-down to the specific code for an industry.
  • Clicking on the description for any level of these codes will place the search criteria into the Code field on the Basic search page and will close out the Industry Code Lookup table window.

To add multiple industry codes to your search criteria repeat the steps above.