Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mergent Online: Database Tutorial

Company by Name or Ticker Symbol

To select a company by name or ticker symbol:

  1. If necessary and available, select the Company Universe(s) of interest in the search on the left search criteria box.
    • USA Company Database (Active) - Companies that are currently publicly traded on US exchanges.
    • USA Company Database (Inactive) - Companies that are not currently, but were once, publicly traded on US exchanges.
    • International Company Database (Active) - Companies that are currently publicly traded on international exchanges.
    • International Company Database (Inactive)- Companies that are not currently, but were once, publicly traded on international exchanges.
    • Private Company Database- Companies privately owned with the US and Canada.
  2. In the edit box, enter the name of the company you wish to find.
    As you begin to enter a company’s name or ticker symbol a drop down box will expand beneath the edit box with a list of 15 names of companies meeting that criteria and a total number at the bottom.  The more parts of the name you include, the information in this drop down window will change to reflect the new criteria, allowing you to quickly expand or narrow your search.
  3. To include Dun & Bradstreet private companies in the search, set the Private Company Database check box.
  4. Click on the Go button. This will display the Search Results page that will show all the company names containing the text you typed.

NAICS Codes

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes are six digit numerical codes implemented by the U.S., Canada and Mexico.

There is an NAICS code lookup table available by selecting the Prim. NAICS option then clicking on the use code lookup link.

  1. Select the Prim. NAICS code option button.
  2. In the text field under Code, enter the NAICS code(s) for the companies you wish to find. Either type the code directly in the field or use the code lookup table to find the correct code.
  3. To search for a range of codes you can either use an asterisk (*) as a wild card or you can simply leave off the digits you want as the range. For example, typing in '31*' or '31' in the Code field will find a list of companies in the NAICS code range 310000 through 319999.
  4. You can search for several NAICS codes in one search by placing ' or ' between each one entered or you can separate each code with a comma (but no spaces), if you wish.
  5. To include Dun & Bradstreet private companies in the search, set the Search private companies check box. Note: This option is only available if you subscribe to this database of companies.
  6. Click on the Go button. This will display the Search Results page that will show the list of company names (if any) corresponding to the NAICS code(s) you entered.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes are four digit numerical codes assigned to U.S. industries and their products. There is an SIC code lookup table available by selecting the Prim. SIC option then clicking on the Use code lookup link.

  1. Select the Prim. SIC code option button
  2. In the text field under Code, enter the SIC code(s) for the companies you wish to find. Either type the code directly in the field or use the code lookup table to find the correct code.
  3. To search for a range of codes you can either use an asterisk (*) as a wild card or you can simply leave off the digits you want as the range. For example, typing in '31*' or '31' in the Code field will find a list of companies in the SIC code range 3100 through 3199.
  4. You can search for several SIC codes in one search by placing ' or ' between each one entered or you can separate each code with a comma and a space.
  5. To include Dun & Bradstreet private companies in the search, set the Search private companies check box.  Note: This option is only available if you subscribe to this database of companies.
  6. Click on the Search button. This will display the Search Results page that will show the list of company names (if any) corresponding to the SIC code(s) you entered.

Mergent Industry Classification (MIC) Codes

Mergent Industry Classification (MIC) codes are numerical codes developed by Mergent to organize all the companies in our databases into industries.

There is a MIC code lookup table available by selecting the MIC option then clicking on the use code lookup link.

  1. Select the MIC code option button.
  2. In the text field under Code, enter the MIC code for the companies you wish to find. Either type the code directly in the field or use the code lookup table to find the correct code.
  3. To search for a range of codes you can either use an asterisk (*) as a wild card or you can simply leave off the digits you want as the range. For example, typing in '3*' or '3' in the Code field will find a list of companies in the MIC code range 3.1 through 3.9.
  4. You can search for several MIC codes in one search by placing ' or ' between each one entered or you can separate each code with a comma (but no spaces), if you wish.
  5. To include Dun & Bradstreet private companies in the search, set the Search private companies check box. Note: This option is only available if you subscribe to this database of companies.
  6. Click on the Go button. This will display the Search Results page that will show the list of company names (if any) corresponding to the MIC code(s) you entered.