Research Guides: Childhood Health & Safety: Special Needs & Illness

Books

Opportunities for Improving Programs and Services for Children with Disabilities by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Health Care Services; Committee on Improving Health Outcomes for Children with Disabilities; Emily Byers (Editor); Frank R. Valliere (Editor); Amy J. Houtrow (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Far from the Tree by Andrew Solomon
Call Number: 362.4083 S689f
Publication Date: 2013
Louisville Main
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, 26th Edition by Maya Bunik; William W. Hay; Myron J. Levin; Mark J. Abzug The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition: Color insert for dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious disease, and other chapters Optimized digital edition for improved search
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2022

Online Resources

Websites

CDC Parent Information Resources and information on many child and health related issues.
Healthy Children.org
Kentuckiana Children's Center The KCC offers services and support to children with special needs and their families.
Kentucky Commission for Children with Special Health Care Needs The agency's vision is "To be the visible leader in supporting the highest quality of life for Kentucky’s children with special health care needs and their families through collaboration and creation of a more accessible community based system of support."
Kids Health Non-profit organization with information for children, teens, parents, and educators.
more...less...
In this site by the Nemours Foundation, parents, teachers, and children can find out health and nutrition information by clicking on various tabs. Please note that the site focuses on total health, not just nutrition.
Childhood Disability Rights (UNICEF)

Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete provides the full text of over 1,300 nursing and allied health journals dating back to 1937. It contains over 6 million records.
ERIC This link opens in a new window Available through EBSCOhost, ERIC (The Educational Resource Information Center) provides citations and abstracts for 1000+ education journals. Note: Some full-text articles are currently unavailable. See this announcement from ERIC: http://www.eric.ed.gov/pdf_availability.html
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Collection of consumer health information and access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, and Vegetarian Times. Access provided by KYVL.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from reference sources including magazines, books, biographies, primary documents, photos, maps and flags. Updated daily. Access provided by KYVL.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's database provides authoritative indexing to 4800+ scholarly medical, nursing, veterinary science, and other health-related journals from 1966 to the present. Access provided by KYVL.