What is a database and why would I want to use one?
Databases are different than using a general search engine like Google. Databases provide access to resources that have been already checked for reliability and credibility (peer review) and list publication dates, authorship and publishing information (citation information).
Which database should I use? Below is a "cheat sheet" to help you find the best database for your search.
General databases such as EBSCOHost Academic Search Complete, ProQuest, or Opposing Viewpoints are a good places to start. See below for databases that focus on specific topics.
Accessing a database will require you to login with your Sullivan University username and password.
If you have difficulty logging in, contact the library for assistance.
EBSCOhost is a collection of full text databases, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, Business Wire News, CINAHL Complete, Clinical Reference Systems, Health Source, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, and Sociological Collection.
As you can see from the names of the databases within EBSCOhost, it has articles on many different topics. If you are unsure where to begin researching a subject, this is a great place to start.
The databases listed on this page are some of the most popular. The library subscribes to dozens of other databases that you may find useful. To see a complete listing of the library's databases, follow the link below.