Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Articles -- Sustainability
The Sullivan University System Libraries provide access to a variety of databases that offer information on general sustainability, green design, modern energy management and other topics related to the environment.
Specific EBSCO databases that focus on sustainability:
Other comprehensive databases that provide useful articles:
There are many books that cover sustainability and IT at the library. To find books and eBooks on this subject, go to the Library Catalog. For best search results, use the subjects listed below:
- Green Technology
- Information Technology -- Environmental Aspects
Below is a sample of print books that are available. However, there are many titles available electronically that relate to information technology and sustainability. For more information regarding accessing eBooks, see the box to the left.
Digital Technology and Sustainability by This book brings together diverse voices from across the field of sustainable human computer interaction (SHCI) to discuss what it means for digital technology to support sustainability and how humans and technology can work together optimally for a more sustainable future. Contemporary digital technologies are hailed by tech companies, governments and academics as leading-edge solutions to the challenges of environmental sustainability; smarter homes, more persuasive technologies, and a robust Internet of Things hold the promise for creating a greener world. Yet, deployments of interactive technologies for such purposes often lead to a paradox: they algorithmically "optimize" heating and lighting of houses without regard to the dynamics of daily life in the home; they can collect and display data that allow us to reflect on energy and emissions, yet the same information can cause us to raise our expectations for comfort and convenience; they might allow us to share best practice for sustainable living through social networking and online communities, yet these same systems further our participation in consumerism and contribute to an ever-greater volume of electronic waste.By acknowledging these paradoxes, this book represents a significant critical inquiry into digital technology#65533;s longer-term impact on ideals of sustainability. Written by an interdisciplinary team of contributors this book will be of great interest to students and scholars of human computer interaction and environmental studies.
Call Number: 658.4083 D574 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Greening Through IT by Environmental issues often span long periods of time, far-flung areas, and labyrinthine layers of complexity. In Greening through IT, Bill Tomlinson investigates how the tools and techniques of information technology (IT) can help us tackle environmental problems at such vast scales. Tomlinson describes theoretical, technological, and social aspects of a growing interdisciplinary approach to sustainability, "Green IT," offering both a human-centered framework for understanding Green IT systems and specific examples and case studies of Green IT in action. Tomlinson descrobes many efforts toward sustainability supported by IT--from fishers in India who maximized the sales potential of their catch by coordinating their activities with mobile phones to the installation of smart meters that optimize electricity use in California households--and offers three detailed studies of specific research projects that he and his colleagues have undertaken: EcoRaft, an interactive museum exhibit to help children learn principles of restoration ecology; Trackulous, a set of web-based tools with which people can chart their own environmental behavior; and GreenScanner, an online system that provides access to environmental-impact reports about consumer products. Taken together, these examples illustrate the significant environmental benefits that innovations in information technology can enable.
Call Number: 658.4083 TOM
Publication Date: 2010-03-19
Green Your Work by Today, many companies are flourishing by delivering high-quality products while pursuing policies that leave the world a cleaner, better place. Those policies can help retain customers, energize employees, and serve as brand-building tools. This book shows managers practical steps to make their companies environmentally responsible while staying profitable and efficient. Environmentalist and businesswoman Kim Carlson shows managers how to green company operations by moving to a paperless office, recycling at work, setting up employee carpools, developing eco-friendly packaging, using green building products, and more. She explains in detail topics ranging from green marketing to setting up a carbon footprint assessment for the company. With this book at their side, managers can turn green into profits.
Call Number: 658.4083 CAR
Publication Date: 2008-12-17
How to Design and Build a Green Office Building by The heating, cooling, and powering of offices accounts for 40 percent of carbon dioxide emissions in the United States and are responsible for more than 70 percent of the countryâe(tm)s total electricity usage. Office computers consume $1 billion of electricity annually. Moreover, recent surveys demonstrate that employees are fed up with their companiesâe(tm) energy-wasting ways. How can you attract workers and reduce your costs at the same time? By going green; the tips in How to Design and Build a Green Office Building will show you how. In this book, you will learn how to protect the building occupantsâe(tm) health, how to improve employee productivity, how to use resources more efficiently, how to reduce your impact on the environment, how to select a site for a new building, how to protect and maintain the current landscape, how to use recycled content, how to use natural lighting, how to install high-efficiency lighting systems, how to select heating and cooling systems, how to select materials, and how to use dimensional planning and material efficiency strategies. You will also learn everything you need to know about water savings, energy efficiency, environmentally-friendly building materials, indoor environmental quality, building shape and orientation, alternative energy sources, dual plumbing, green building guidelines, gray water systems, water-conserving fixtures, the costs and financial benefits of building green, foundations, floors, and roofing. In addition, How to Design and Build a Green Office Building provides you with thousands of low or no cost ways to make your office more environmentally friendly. Whether you are building a brand new building, remodeling an existing one, or even just looking to make small changes that will have a big impact, you need to read this book. Employing the techniques in this book will ultimately save you money, increase your productivity, and attract more employees. Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company presidentâe(tm)s garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed.
Call Number: 690 BON
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
Green Networking and Communications by Although the information and communication technology (ICT) industry accounted for only 2 percent of global greenhouse gas emissions in 2007, the explosive increase in data traffic brought about by a rapidly growing user base of more than a billion wireless subscribers is expected to nearly double that number by 2020.It is clear that now is the time to rethink how we design and build our networks. Green Networking and Communications: ICT for Sustainability brings together leading academic and industrial researchers from around the world to discuss emerging developments in energy-efficient networking and communications. It covers the spectrum of research subjects, including methodologies and architectures for energy efficiency, energy-efficient protocols and networks, energy management, smart grid communications, and communication technologies for green solutions. Examines foraging-inspired radio-communication energy management for green multi-radio networks Considers a cross-layer approach to the design of energy-efficient wireless access networks Investigates the interplay between cooperative device-to-device communications and green LTE cellular networks Considers smart grid energy procurement for green LTE cellular networks Details smart grid networking protocols and standards Considering the spectrum of energy-efficient network components and approaches for reducing power consumption, the book is organized into three sections: Energy Efficiency and Management in Wireless Networks, Cellular Networks, and Smart Grids. It addresses many open research challenges regarding energy efficiency for IT and for wireless sensor networks, including mobile and wireless access networks, broadband access networks, home networks, vehicular networks, intelligent future wireless networks, and smart grids. It also examines emerging standards for energy-efficient protocols. Since ICT technologies touch on nearly all sectors of the economy, the concepts presented in this text offer you the opportunity to make a substantial contribution to the reduction of global greenhouse gas emissions.
Call Number: 621.39 GRE
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Green Information Technology by We are living in the era of "Big Data" and the computing power required to deal with "Big Data" both in terms of its energy consumption and technical complexity is one of the key areas of research and development. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency estimates that centralized computing infrastructures (data centres) currently use 7 giga watts of electricity during peak loads. This translates into about 61 billion kilowatt hours of electricity used. By the EPA's estimates, power-hungry data centres consume the annual output of 15 average-sized power plants. One of the top constraints to increasing computing power, besides the ability to cool, is simply delivering enough power to a given physical space. Green Information Technology: A Sustainable Approach offers in a single volume a broad collection of practical techniques and methodologies for designing, building and implementing a green technology strategy in any large enterprise environment, which up until now has been scattered in difficult-to-find scholarly resources. Included here is the latest information on emerging technologies and their environmental impact, how to effectively measure sustainability, discussions on sustainable hardware and software design, as well as how to use big data and cloud computing to drive efficiencies and establish a framework for sustainability in the information technology infrastructure. Written by recognized experts in both academia and industry, Green Information Technology: A Sustainable Approach is a must-have guide for researchers, computer architects, computer engineers and IT professionals with an interest in greater efficiency with less environmental impact. Introduces the concept of using green procurement and supply chain programs in the IT infrastructure. Discusses how to use big data to drive efficiencies and establish a framework for sustainability in the information technology infrastructure. Explains how cloud computing can be used to consolidate corporate IT environments using large-scale shared infrastructure reducing the overall environmental impact and unlocking new efficiencies. Provides specific use cases for Green IT such as data center energy efficiency and cloud computing sustainability and risk.
Call Number: 004.028 GRE
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
There is a selection of sustainability titles available electronically. These can be accessed via the library catalog or directly in Books 24x7.
- Library Catalog: To locate eBooks in the Library Catalog, you may search by title, author or subject. To limit to only eBooks, select "Virtual Library" in the Searching Locations box.
- To access Books 24x7 directly, go to the Sullivan University Library Database page, log in and select "Books 24x7."
Links - Business
Mission is to create communities that work for all.
An organization focused on economic strategies that solve social and environmental problems. They Mobilize and educate people as consumers, investors, workers, and business leaders.
Educational organization that demonstrates social and environmental sustainability can be achieved by applying the values of human-scale communities and respect for the natural environment to economic issues. Links to events, local currencies, and land trusts.
Non profit seeking to restore deteriorating landscapes and the lives of the people dependent on them using practical, low-cost solutions.
Independent organization that inspires economic well-being. Aims to improve quality of life by promoting innovative solutions that challenge mainstream thinking on economic, environment and social issues.
Pools the financial resources for people who believe in the ethics of Permaculture. They then apply those resources to earth-friendly and socially responsible loans and investments.