Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Articles -- Sustainability
The Sullivan University System Libraries provide access to a variety of databases that offer information on general sustainability, green design, modern energy management and other topics related to the environment.
Specific EBSCO databases that focus on sustainability:
Other comprehensive databases that provide useful articles:
Links - Building
Plans, tools and information to do renewable energy and conservation projects. Hundreds of projects
-- from changing a light bulb to building a solar home. Design information and tools
for building renewable energy projects. An Experimental
section for backyard inventors. Nothing For Sale here -- just free ideas, plans, and information.
Non profit that works to enhance the health of the planet and our communities by promoting a shift to sustainable construction and development through leadership, strategic relationships, and education.
Non profit, international association of builders, engineers, architects, academics, and developers committed to promoting intelligent building methods and materials for a sustainable future. Includes access to articles, papers, conference proceedings, and related events.
Links to Green Building Policies Network, a database for Sustainable Building Information System, and a tool for assessing and reducing energy-related impact of buildings on interior, local and global environments.
Directory of more than 1,800 environmentally preferable building products with descriptions, manufacturer information, and links to resources.
A collaboration of the Ecological Cities Project and The Lincoln Institute of Land Policy. The "Humane Metropolis" means urban communities at all scales - metro areas, cities, suburbs, neighborhoods, or blocks.
Useful links for eco friendly housing design. Wells is a seasoned expert in the field.
Promotes sustainable land development and management practices that apply to sites with and without buildings.
There are many books that cover sustainability and architecture at the Library. To find books and eBooks on this subject, go to the Library Catalog. For best search results, use the subjects listed below:
- Sustainable Design
- Sustainable Architecture
- Sustainable Buildings
- Ecological Houses
- Dwellings -- Energy Conservation
- Design -- Environmental Aspects
There is a selection of sustainability titles available electronically. These can be accessed via the library catalog or directly in Books 24x7.
- Library Catalog: To locate eBooks in the Library Catalog, you may search by title, author or subject. To limit to only eBooks, select "Virtual Library" in the Searching Locations box.
- To access Books 24x7 directly, go to the Sullivan University Library Database page, log in and select "Books 24x7."