Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MKT 244 PRINCIPLES OF ADVERTISING (4 Credits) This is an introductory course covering advertising theory and practice in relation to principles of marketing. Includes such matters as preparation of copy, selection of media, advertising effectiveness, psychographics, along with current advertisements and campaigns. Prerequisite(s): None
Advertising Strategy by Advertising Strategy provides students with the experience of an actively teaching professor at one of the top advertising programs in the country and a working creative director/agency principle. Altstiel and Grow get right to the point by stressing key principles, illustrating them, and then providing practical information students and working professionals can use. Unlike many books that focus on only work created for large consumer accounts by mega agencies, this text also covers business-to-business, in-house, and small agency work. Key Features: - Up-to-date examples: over half were produced in the last two years. - Writing for the Internet/Interactive Marketing: the most comprehensive and up to date general copywriting text that covers the Internet - Diversity discussion: a whole chapter is devoted to these issues, plus examples and case histories related to issues of diversity are woven throughout the text. - War Stories: the authors tracked down some of the hottest professionals in the business and their anecdotes bring real world experience into each chapter. They are part case history, part lessons-to-be-learned and sometimes, very funny. - Words of Wisdom: timely quotes from some of the most influential people in our business, past and present. These quotes bring key points to life in every chapter. - Who's Who: short biographies of people mentioned in the book. Located at the end of each chapter, these blurbs sometimes include very personal information provided directly by these people.
Call Number: 659.1 A469a
Publication Date: 2005
Advertising Transformed by Advertising Transformed is the ultimate guide to advertising in the 21st century. In an advertising world transformed by digital technology it sets out what current and would-be admen and women need to know to create advertising that works. Branding expert and Managing Director of Think BBDO, Fons Van Dyck, synthesizes the latest thinking about advertising into a digestible list of rules to create a best practice guide to succeeding in the industry. It covers some of the key issues affecting advertising professionals today and focuses in particular on how advertisers can engage with increasingly empowered consumers on multiple channels on a global and local scale. Backed by case studies of Effie award winning campaigns from brands such as Evian, Mercedes and IBM, Advertising Transformed provides readers with the insights and expertise to meet the changing requirements of modern advertising and devise exciting campaigns that prove its continuing value.
Call Number: 659.1
Publication Date: 2014
Effective Advertising by 'Tellis has done a remarkable job. He has brought together an amazingly diverse literature. Unlike some other sources that claim to be able to measure the effects of advertising, Tellis's thoroughness and ability to understand and convey results of various experiments and statistical analyses helps the reader to separate the wheat from the chaff. Any student of advertising, whether new to the field or a seasoned veteran executive or researcher, should read this book' - Alan G. Sawyer, University of Florida Understanding Effective Advertising: How, When, and Why Ads Work reviews and summarizes an extensive body of research on advertising effectiveness. In particular, it summarizes what we know today on when, how, and why advertising works. The primary focus of the book is on the instantaneous and carryover effects of advertising on consumer choice, sales, and market share. In addition, the book reviews research on the rich variety of ad appeals, and suggests which appeals work, and when, how, and why they work.
Call Number: 659.1 T276e
Publication Date: 2003
Creative 4Cast by Advertising has always had a clear objective: to promote the sales of a product. The success of an advertising campaign is determined by the success of the client's business/brand. But with the advent of social and digital media and the extraordinary changes in the media landscape in general, advertising companies must reassess their roles and ways of operating in order to continue achieving success for their clients. This book presents a manifesto for the changing face of advertising. But rather than a revolution, this change is more of an evolution. Creative thought has to evolve, creative professionals have to evolve and therefore advertising agencies, too, have to evolve. Leading advertising practitioner Emanuele Nenna provides ideas and direction for this evolution in this timely and important book for everyone involved in the advertising sector.
Call Number: 659.1
Publication Date: 2014
Paid Attention by As ever, the onus is on brands to find compelling ways to earn the attention of the consumer. Yet content scarcity has given way to overload, fixed channels have dissolved into fluid networks, and audiences have become participants in consumer-driven conversations. This shift requires a new course of action for brands; it demands new marketing imperatives. Paid Attention is a guide to modern advertising ideas: what they are, why they are evolving and how to have them. Spanning communication theory, neuroscience, creativity and innovation, media history, branding and emerging technologies, it explores the strategic creation process and how to package ideas to attract the most attention in the advertising industry.Packed with real-world examples of advertising campaigns for companies including Sony, Red Bull, HP and many more, Paid Attention provides a robust model for influencing human behaviour. Referencing a wide body of theory and praxis, from behavioural economics and sociology to technology and even science fiction, Faris Yakob maps advertising onto a wider analysis of culture. Containing practical advertising and branding templates, including a new advertising planning toolkit, it is ideal for students and practitioners looking to get noticed in today's cluttered marketplace.
Call Number: 659.1
Publication Date: 2015
The Copywriter's Handbook by Updated third edition of the classic guide to copywriting. Reveals dozens of copywriting techniques for writing ads, commercials and direct mail that are clear, persuasive and attention-grabbing. Including information on the eight magic headlines, tips for making copy more readable, opening a sales letter, building freelance copywriting practices and ensuring email marketing shots are read.
Call Number: 808.066 B661c
Publication Date: 2006
How to Write Great Copy by In our visually dominated age, there is an even greater reason for copy to be beautifully and sharply written, to have impact and immediacy. Dominic Gettins spent many years writing copy and training others to do so. In this slim elegantly written guide, he clearly demonstrates his ability to get his message across and shows readers how to do the same. He articulates the uncodified knowledge copywriters and art directors use when writing ads for readers to apply to any communications they have to produce.The techniques and principles can be applied to any form of promotional writing, in national press, newsletters, press releases, direct mail shots, posters, TV, radio, and even internal reports and memos. He presents these in the form of 8 essential rules: 1.Know your target market; 2.Do research; 3.Answer the brief; 4.Be relevant; 5.Be objective; 6.Keep it simple; 7.Know your medium; 8.Be ambitious.
Call Number: 659.132
Publication Date: 2006
The Copywriting Sourcebook by Expert advice on writing effective copy, faster, for all businesses. Coming up with the right words can make a significant difference to your results - this book shows you how. Contains templates for 13 of the most common copywriting tasks. Advice, short-cut tips and insights by a leading copywriting expert. The bible for anyone - marketing and sales staff, managers, entrepreneurs, etc - who needs fast copy. It's OK knowing the theory, but when it's 9am and you have just been given until lunchtime to write some copy for a new sales email, landing page, press ad or brochure, what you really need is a shortcut. This book takes the grind out of planning and writing almost any type of copy by providing step-by-step advice on the best layouts, approaches and styles to suit everything from an email subject line to recruitment ad, direct mail letter or website. Prepared by one of the best copywriters in the B2B sector, this book also provides the reader with templates for 13 of the most common copywriting tasks for maximum effectiveness and speed.
Call Number: 659.132
Publication Date: 2010
Google Adwords by This two-part course workbook is designed to help the student use Google AdWords for Web marketing. Part 1 of the course guide covers how to: create and navigate a Google AdWords account; create and manage ad campaigns; work with keywords; write ads for Google AdWords; manage bidding and budgets; launch and manage ads; and create financial and performance reports. Part 2 covers how to: create ad campaigns for the Google Display Network; configure location, language, and schedule for campaigns; optimize contextual and placement targeting; plan and create an ad campaign for YouTube; optimize landing page quality; and analyze and optimize Display Network campaigns. This Logical Operations courseware addresses skills that are tested in the Google Certified Professional (GCP)exam series for Google AdWords.
Call Number: 658.872076
Publication Date: 2013