ABC (Alphabet)ColorsCounting (Math)General ConceptsOppositesScienceShapesSizeTime
ADD/ADHDAsperger's SyndromeAutismBlindness/Visual ImpairmentCerebral PalsyDeafness/Hearing ImpairmentDown's SyndromeDyslexiaGeneralParaplegic
Abuse & NeglectAdoption & Foster CareBabiesBullyingCharacter DevelopmentDeathDivorceFamiliesParent-ChildSelf-Esteem & EmotionsSiblingsSubstance Abuse
AllergiesAsthmaCancerDental Health and TeethDiabetesExercise and Physical FitnessFirst ExperiencesHuman Body (general)Infectious DiseasesMental IllnessPotty TrainingReproductionSibling in the HospitalStrokeVision
Children's DayChristmasEasterFourth of JulyHalloweenHanukkahPassoverRamadanRosh HashanahThanksgivingValentine's Day
AfricanAfrican-AmericanArab-AmericanChineseGeneralHispanicIslamJapaneseJewishKoreanNative AmericanPakistani
This is the "Intro" page of the "Subject Guide to Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Use this guide to find children's books at the Sullivan Lexington campus on various topics like: concepts, cooking, families, holidays, and occupations.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sullivan.edu/childlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Intro Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How Do I Use This Guide?

This guide is organized by various subjects or topics found in the juvenile collection. Each subject tab lists some of the children's books, alphabetically by title, that the library has on the topic, and the call numbers for the books. The tab also contains a search box for NoveList, a literature database that includes books owned by the library and activity guides to help teachers use children's books.

The websites tab includes links to websites that are useful to teachers.

If you need any assistance with finding children's books, finding websites, or using this guide, please ask one of the librarians. We will be glad to help you.

 

Need Help?

 liblex@sullivan.edu

(859) 514-3359

Library  hours:

Monday -- Friday 7:30am to 9:45pm
Saturday 7:30am to 4:30pm
Sunday Closed

Children's Book Awards

  • Caldecott & Newbery Books at Sullivan University
    Click on this link to go a complete listing of Caldecott and Newbery books. Titles with an * beside them are available at one of the Sullivan campuses, and the librarians will be glad to help you find them.
  • Caldecott Medal-official page
    The American Library Association awards the Caldecott Medal, and here is the link to the official Caldecott page.
  • Newbery Medal-official page
    The American Library Association awards the Newbery Medal. This is the link to the official Newbery page.
 

How Can I Find the Books I Need?

The Sullivan University Library and Learning Resource Center in Lexington has organized the juvenile collection, which includes the children's books, using the Dewey Decimal system. Each book has what is called a call number on it to help students, faculty, and the librarians find the book.

Most of the books in the juvenile section have a call number that looks like this:

JF

A

So why does the book have a JF and an A? The JF stands for juvenile fiction, and the A stands for the first letter of the author's (the writer of the book) last name. This means that the book is in the juvenile fiction section of the library, and that the author of the book has a name that begins with A, like Allen, Aylesworth, or Arnold.

The books are organized alphabetically by the last names of the authors. If you want to find a book written by Eric Carle, for example The Very Hungry Caterpillar, you will need to go to the JF C section (since Carle begins with a C) and look at the spine of the book for the author's name and the book's title.

The board books, which are books made out of sturdy board material so that the youngest child can open and enjoy them without tearing the book's pages, are shelved at the very end of the children's book sections. The board books still have the call numbers that start with a JF though.

Some of the books in the juvenile collection have different call numbers on them that have a combination of numbers and letters.

Here is an example:

R

025.55

V291c

These numbers and letters are part of the Dewey Decimal system too. They just describe the book and its location in a different way. Nearly all of the books that have the numbers and letter spine labels are reference books, meaning they have to stay in the library. These reference books have lists of children's books, ways to use children's book with children, and suggested resources to help teachers learn more about children's literature.

If you need any help locating a specific book or several titles about a particular subject, please don't hesitate to ask one of the librarians. We will be glad to assist you.

 

What is Children's Literature?

Children's literature is written for children to give them both, "pleasure and understanding" (Lukens, 1999). Those who select literature for children need to remember the elements of literature such as: style, point of view, plot, setting, and characterization, which are a part of adult literature, because those elements determine how well the book is written and possible methods of using the book with children.

When considering picture books, a distinct set of books for children, one must also note the type and quality of the illustrations, as the illustrations aid in telling the story. If the illustrations do not match the text or are inappropriate to the mood of the text, the book will not be as effective in reaching children.

Bibliography

Lukens, R. (1999). A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature. New York: Longman.

Raines, S. & Isbell, R. (1994). Stories: Children's Literature in Early Education. Albany, NY: Delmar Publishers, Inc.

 

What is a Picture Book?

A picture book is a book written for children where the pictures tell the story. Many children's books have illustrations in them, but in picture books the illustrations or photographs are essential to the book. For more information about picture books check out the following resources. 

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books by Carolyn and John Lima; R 011.62 L732a 2010

Companion to American Children's Picture Books by Connie Ann Kirk J 028.5343 K 591c

If you have any trouble finding one of these books or if you want help locating picture books, just ask one of the librarians. We will be glad to assist you. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip